Wyoming Liberty Index, 2007 General Session

Last revised 11 Aug 2008

The 2007 Wyoming Liberty Index is now available. The tables for the two houses of the Wyoming legislature are shown below.

This 2007 Index has been revised, due to an error found in the spreadsheet. The correction resulted in a modest movement of positions in the rankings. I apologize for any inconvenience this change causes.

The 2007 Index background information is broken into the following pages:

Spreadsheet (an Office97 Excel file; do you need an Excel viewer?)
Discussion of the session bills
Methodology used this year
Membership changes in the legislature

The Top Dozen liberty-supporting members in the House were (in order) Representatives Brechtel, Miller, Semlek, Diercks, Wallis, Jones, Olsen, Teeters, Shepperson, Philp, Alden and Quarberg. This year the margin at the top was fairly small so it is not certain Brechtel (our winner in 2003) really beat Miller, but Brechtel does win the title of "Most Liberty-Friendly Member of the House for 2007".

The Need Improvement - those members who most consistently voted to limit freedom - were (in order) Representatives Slater, Walsh, Thompson, Millin, Martin, White, Bagby, Berger, Esquibel (Floyd), Iekel, Lubnau, and in last place, Hammons. Representative Debbie Hammons has earned the title of "Most Liberty-Hostile Member of the House for 2007".

The Top Half-Dozen liberty-supporting members in the Senate were (in order) Senators Case, Nicholas, Larson, Townsend, Hines and Perkins. For the fourth year running (as long as we have been rating the Senate), Senator Cale Case has come out on top; he earns the title of the "Most Liberty-Friendly Member of the Senate for 2007" by a very large margin. Kudos again to Senator Case!

The Senate Need Improvement - those members who most consistently voted to limit freedom - were (in order) Senators Ross, von Flatern, Fecht, Sessions, Massie, and Hastert. Senator John Hastert has earned the title of "Most Liberty-Hostile Member of the Senate for 2007".

In the charts below, where more than one member shows the same rank, it means of course that they tied in score.

The 2007 Wyoming House Index

The most liberty-supporting legislators are at the top of the table.

NameParDistDistrict LocationRank
Bob BrechtelR38Natrona1
David MillerR55Fremont2
Mark SemlekR1Crook/Weston3
Ross DiercksD2Niobrara/Weston/Converse/Goshen4
Sue WallisR52Campbell5
Alan JonesR25Park6
Monte OlsenR22Lincoln/Sublette/Teton7
Matt TeetersR5Goshen/Platte8
Lisa SheppersonR58Natrona9
Frank PhilpR34Fremont10
Deborah AldenR3Converse/Platte11
Lorraine QuarbergR28S. Big Horn/Hot Springs/SE Park12
Mary Meyer GilmoreD59Natrona13
Amy EdmondsR12Laramie14
Charles P. "Pat" ChildersR50Park15
Erin MercerR53Campbell16
Dan DockstaderR21Lincoln17
Mike MaddenR40Johnson/Sheridan17
Timothy HallinanR32Campbell19
William StewardR47Carbon/Albany20
Dave ZwonitzerR9Laramie21
Allen JaggiR18Uinta/Sweetwater22
Jack Landon Jr.R30Sheridan23
Rodney "Pete" AndersonR10Laramie24
Keith GingeryR23Fremont/Teton25
Edward A. BuchananR4Goshen26
Kathy DavisonR20Lincoln/Sublette/Sweetwater27
Elaine HarveyR26Big Horn/Park28
Dan ZwonitzerR43Laramie29
Pete JorgensenD16Teton30
Del McOmieR54Fremont31
Doug SamuelsonR7Laramie32
W. Patrick GogglesD33Fremont33
Roy CoheeR35Natrona34
Kermit C. BrownR14Albany35
Liz GentileD36Natrona35
Steve HarshmanR37Natrona37
Owen PetersenR19Uinta38
Thomas A. LockhartR57Natrona39
Bernadine CraftD17Sweetwater40
Colin M. SimpsonR24Park41
Saundra MeyerD49Uinta42
Stan BlakeD39Sweetwater43
Pete IllowayR42Laramie44
Ken EsquibelD41Laramie45
Mary ThroneD11Laramie46
Dave EdwardsR6Converse47
Jane WarrenD13Albany48
Jim SlaterR46Albany49
Tom WalshR56Natrona49
Bill ThompsonD60Sweetwater51
Lori MillinD8Laramie52
Marty MartinD48SW Fremont/Sweetwater53
Kevin A. WhiteR45Albany54
George BagbyD15Carbon55
Rosie BergerR51Sheridan55
Floyd A. EsquibelD44Laramie57
Jerry IekelR29Sheridan58
Thomas E. Lubnau IIR31Campbell59
Debbie HammonsD27Washakie60

The 2007 Wyoming Senate Index

The most liberty-supporting legislators are at the top of the table.

NameParDistDistrict LocationRank
Cale CaseR25Fremont1
Phil NicholasR10Albany2
Grant C. LarsonR17Teton/Fremont3
Charles TownsendR1Crook/Weston/E Converse/Niobrara/NE Goshen4
John HinesR23Campbell5
Drew PerkinsR29Natrona6
John SchifferR22Sheridan/Johnson7
Bruce BurnsR21Sheridan8
Kit JenningsR28Natrona9
Gerald E. GeisR20S Big Horn/Hot Springs/SE Park/Washakie10
Curt MeierR3Goshen/Platte11
Charles K. ScottR30Natrona12
John BarrassoR27Natrona13
Bill VaseyD11Albany/Carbon14
Ray PetersonR19Big Horn/E Park15
Jim AndersonR2Converse/Platte16
Henry H. R. "Hank" CoeR18Park16
Pat AullmanR16Lincoln/Sublette/Teton18
Wayne H. JohnsonR6Laramie19
E. Jayne MocklerD8Laramie20
Rae Lynn JobD12Sweetwater/Fremont21
Ken DecariaD15Uinta22
Stan CooperR14Lincoln/Sublette/Sweetwater/Uinta23
Tony RossR4Laramie24
Michael Von FlaternR24Campbell25
Bob FechtR5Laramie26
Kathryn SessionsD7Laramie27
Mike MassieD9Albany28
John HastertD13Sweetwater29
Bob PeckR26FremontN/A*

* Bob Peck died in office and no votes were recorded for him.